Research · 11 min read

Pancreatitis and Gallbladder Disease: Where the GLP-1 Labels Agree, and Where They Quietly Don't

The pancreatitis warning is nearly the same on all five labels. The gallbladder warning is not — the five documents report different numbers, and one of them disagrees with the other four about whether weight loss explains the finding.

Key takeaways

  • Both warnings appear on all five labels, but the pancreatitis sections are nearly uniform while the gallbladder sections diverge substantially.
  • All five give the same pancreatitis symptom description and the same instruction to prescribers to discontinue if it is suspected.
  • No pancreatitis warning section on any of the five reports a trial incidence rate.
  • The gallbladder sections each report their own numbers using different definitions and different comparison groups, which makes them not comparable across products.
  • Two labels attribute gallbladder events to weight reduction; one states the excess persisted even after accounting for the degree of weight loss.
  • One label reports a higher gallstone figure at its lower dose than its higher one, which reflects trial size rather than a dose-response.
  • The gallbladder instruction is to investigate; the pancreatitis instruction is to stop the drug, which is a meaningful difference in how the labels weigh them.

Answer first: two warnings that behave very differently

Both warnings appear on all five labels examined here. That is where the similarity ends.

The pancreatitis sections are close to interchangeable. Each describes acute pancreatitis observed in patients treated with GLP-1 receptor agonists, gives the same symptom description, and gives the same instruction to prescribers. None of them attaches a trial rate to it in that section.

The gallbladder sections are the opposite. Each of the five reports its own trial numbers against its own placebo group, and those numbers are not close to one another. More interestingly, the five labels do not agree on what the numbers mean.

Four of them either say nothing about causation or attribute the events to weight reduction. One says the opposite: that the incidence was greater than placebo even after accounting for the degree of weight loss. That is a real disagreement in the published record, and it sits in plain sight in two documents from two different manufacturers.

What the pancreatitis warning says

The wording is close to uniform. Acute pancreatitis, including fatal and non-fatal hemorrhagic or necrotizing pancreatitis, has been observed in patients treated with GLP-1 receptor agonists, including this drug.

The orforglipron label splits that sentence in a way worth noticing. It states that acute pancreatitis has been reported in patients treated with the drug itself, and then separately that fatal and non-fatal hemorrhagic or necrotizing pancreatitis have been observed in patients treated with GLP-1 receptor agonists. The severe forms are attributed to the class rather than to that molecule.

All five then give prescribers the same direction. After initiation, observe patients carefully for signs and symptoms of acute pancreatitis. If pancreatitis is suspected, discontinue the drug and initiate appropriate management.

The symptom description is identical across the set and is the part most useful to a patient: persistent or severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back, which may or may not be accompanied by nausea or vomiting.

That last clause deserves attention. May or may not be accompanied by nausea or vomiting is doing real work on a drug where nausea is among the most common ordinary side effects. The label is warning that the presence of nausea does not confirm this and the absence of nausea does not rule it out. The distinguishing feature it names is the pain — persistent, severe, and radiating to the back.

What the pancreatitis warning does not say

None of the five pancreatitis sections reports an incidence rate from its own clinical trials. That is unusual next to the gallbladder sections, which are dense with percentages.

The Zepbound label does publish counts elsewhere, in its adverse reactions material, describing events of acute pancreatitis confirmed by adjudication in trials of tirzepatide for a different indication. But the warning section itself is qualitative.

The absence of a rate in the warning is not the same as an absence of evidence, and it should not be read as either reassurance or alarm. It reflects that the warning rests substantially on postmarketing reports and on class experience rather than on a clean trial signal.

What this means practically is modest and worth saying plainly. The labels describe a serious event, tell prescribers to watch for it and to stop the drug if it is suspected, and do not quantify how often it happens in the warning itself. Anyone quoting a specific pancreatitis rate is drawing on something other than these five warning sections.

The gallbladder numbers, and why they are hard to compare

Here the five labels diverge sharply, and the first thing to understand is that they are not measuring the same thing.

The Zepbound label reports, from a pool of two weight-reduction trials, cholelithiasis in 1.1% of treated patients against 1% on placebo, cholecystitis in 0.7% against 0.2%, and cholecystectomy in 0.2% against none.

The Foundayo label reports, from its own pool of two weight-reduction trials, cholelithiasis in 1% against 0.7% on placebo, and acute cholecystitis in 0.4% against 0.3%.

The Mounjaro label groups differently again, reporting acute gallbladder disease defined as cholelithiasis, biliary colic and cholecystectomy together in 0.6% of treated patients against none on placebo.

The Wegovy label reports the largest spread, with cholelithiasis in 1.6% of injection-treated adults against 0.7% on placebo, and 2.5% of tablet-treated adults against 1%. It also reports higher rates in treated patients aged twelve and older than in treated adults.

Set those side by side and the comparison collapses, because the definitions differ, the placebo groups differ, the trial populations differ, and one label bundles three outcomes into a single category that another reports separately. A number that looks lower on one label may simply be a narrower definition.

The disagreement about weight loss

This is the most substantive difference in the set, and it is a difference of interpretation rather than of measurement.

The Zepbound and Foundayo labels each close their gallbladder section with the same short sentence: acute gallbladder events were associated with weight reduction. That points the finding at rapid weight loss, which is a long-established cause of gallstones, rather than at the drug specifically.

The Wegovy label goes further and then reverses direction. It acknowledges that substantial or rapid weight loss can increase the risk of cholelithiasis, and then states that the incidence of acute gallbladder disease was greater in treated patients than in placebo-treated patients even after accounting for the degree of weight loss.

That is a claim the other labels do not make, and it is the more consequential one. If the excess persists after adjusting for how much weight people lost, then weight loss alone does not explain it.

The honest reading is that these are different analyses of different trials, not a contradiction that one side has to lose. But it does mean the common summary — that gallbladder events on these drugs are just what rapid weight loss does — is stated by two of these labels and specifically qualified by a third.

For a reader, the useful takeaway is not which label is right. It is that the question of mechanism is genuinely open, and that being told a confident single answer should prompt a look at which document it came from.

One number that does not behave

The Ozempic label reports its gallbladder figures by dose, and the result is worth quoting because of what it is not.

In placebo-controlled trials, cholelithiasis was reported in 1.5% of patients at the lower of two doses and 0.4% at the higher one. Cholelithiasis was not reported in placebo-treated patients at all.

The higher figure sits at the lower dose. That is not a dose-response relationship, and the label does not present it as one — it simply prints both figures.

Nobody should read that as evidence that a lower dose is riskier. What it more likely reflects is small event counts in trials that were not designed to answer this question, where a handful of cases moves a percentage noticeably.

It is included here because it is a good illustration of how to read trial percentages on a label. When a number does not follow the pattern the mechanism would predict, the most probable explanation is the size of the trial rather than a discovery about the drug.

What the labels tell prescribers to do

The gallbladder instruction is short and consistent across the set. If cholelithiasis or cholecystitis is suspected, gallbladder diagnostic studies and appropriate clinical follow-up are indicated.

Note what is absent. There is no instruction to stop the drug for suspected gallbladder disease, which stands in contrast to the pancreatitis section, where all five say to discontinue if pancreatitis is suspected.

That difference in instruction is a reasonable proxy for how the labels weigh the two events. One triggers investigation. The other triggers stopping.

The counseling sections give patients the corresponding version: be aware of the risk of acute gallbladder disease, and contact a healthcare provider for follow-up if it is suspected. The Wegovy label adds the fuller explanation, telling patients that substantial or rapid weight loss can increase the risk but that gallbladder disease may also occur without it.

What to actually do with this

Learn the pancreatitis symptom description, because it is the one thing on this page with a clear action attached. Persistent or severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back, with or without nausea and vomiting, is what all five labels tell prescribers to take seriously.

Do not use ordinary nausea as your yardstick. The labels are explicit that nausea and vomiting may or may not accompany it, which is precisely why the pain is described the way it is.

Mention gallstones, a previous gallbladder attack, or a removed gallbladder during an intake. It is not a contraindication on any of these labels, but it is context a prescriber should have before choosing anything.

Treat cross-label percentage comparisons with suspicion. The definitions and comparison groups differ enough that a lower number on one document does not establish a safer drug, and no label in this set invites that comparison.

Then read the leaflet in your own carton, which is the label for the exact product you were dispensed and is revised more often than anything written about it.

Sources

  1. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection — full prescribing informationEli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · Prescribing information revised August 2026 · Retrieved September 2026The pancreatitis warning wording and symptom description, the cholelithiasis, cholecystitis and cholecystectomy figures against placebo, and the statement that acute gallbladder events were associated with weight reduction.
  2. MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) injection — full prescribing informationEli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · Prescribing information revised August 2026 · Retrieved September 2026The grouped acute gallbladder disease figure combining cholelithiasis, biliary colic and cholecystectomy, which illustrates why the five labels' numbers are not comparable.
  3. FOUNDAYO (orforglipron) tablet — full prescribing informationEli Lilly and Company, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · Prescribing information revised July 2026 · Retrieved September 2026That the severe forms of pancreatitis are attributed to the class rather than to orforglipron specifically, its own gallbladder figures, and its weight-reduction attribution.
  4. WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and tablet — full prescribing informationNovo Nordisk, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · Prescribing information revised June 2026 · Retrieved September 2026The injection and tablet gallbladder figures, the higher rates reported in treated patients aged twelve and older, and the statement that incidence was greater than placebo even after accounting for the degree of weight loss.
  5. OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection — full prescribing informationNovo Nordisk, via DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) · Prescribing information revised May 2026 · Retrieved September 2026The by-dose cholelithiasis figures showing a higher percentage at the lower dose, and that cholelithiasis was not reported in placebo-treated patients in those trials.

Frequently asked questions

How would I know if I had pancreatitis rather than normal side effects?

The labels give one description, and all five give the same one: persistent or severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back, which may or may not be accompanied by nausea or vomiting. That final clause is the important part on a drug where nausea is a common ordinary side effect — the labels are saying nausea neither confirms nor rules this out. The distinguishing features they name are the character and persistence of the pain and its radiation to the back. The labels instruct prescribers to discontinue the drug if pancreatitis is suspected, which tells you how seriously they treat the possibility. Any severe or persistent abdominal pain is a call to a clinician, not a thing to assess from an article.

How common is pancreatitis on these drugs?

None of the five warning sections gives a rate, which is notable because the gallbladder sections on the same labels are full of percentages. The pancreatitis sections are qualitative: they state that acute pancreatitis, including fatal and non-fatal hemorrhagic or necrotizing forms, has been observed in patients treated with GLP-1 receptor agonists, and tell prescribers to watch for it. Some labels publish event counts elsewhere in their adverse reactions material. The absence of a rate in the warning reflects that it rests substantially on postmarketing reports and class experience rather than a clean trial signal, and it should be read as neither reassuring nor alarming.

Do these drugs cause gallstones, or does the weight loss?

The labels disagree, which is the honest answer. The Zepbound and Foundayo labels each conclude their gallbladder section by saying acute gallbladder events were associated with weight reduction. The Wegovy label acknowledges that substantial or rapid weight loss increases the risk of cholelithiasis and then states that the incidence of acute gallbladder disease was greater in treated patients than in placebo-treated patients even after accounting for the degree of weight loss. Those are different analyses of different trials rather than a contradiction one side must lose, but it does mean the common explanation that this is simply what rapid weight loss does is asserted by two of these labels and specifically qualified by a third.

Which of these drugs has the lowest gallbladder risk?

The labels do not support that comparison, and putting their numbers in a row is misleading. They use different definitions — one bundles cholelithiasis, biliary colic and cholecystectomy into a single category while another reports them separately — and they have different placebo groups, different trial populations and different durations. A figure that looks lower on one document may only reflect a narrower definition of what was counted. No label in this set invites a cross-product comparison, and none of them is written to be read alongside the others.

Why does one label show a higher rate at a lower dose?

The Ozempic label reports cholelithiasis in 1.5% of patients at the lower of two doses and 0.4% at the higher, with none reported on placebo. That is not a dose-response, and the label does not claim it is — it prints both figures without interpretation. The most likely explanation is small event counts in trials not designed to answer this question, where a few cases move a percentage visibly. It is a useful reminder about reading label percentages generally: when a number contradicts what the mechanism would predict, trial size is the more probable explanation than a discovery about the drug.

If I have had my gallbladder removed, does any of this still apply?

The gallbladder warning describes cholelithiasis and cholecystitis, which are conditions of an organ you no longer have, so that specific warning does not apply in the same way. The pancreatitis warning is separate and unaffected. None of these labels lists prior gallbladder disease or cholecystectomy as a contraindication. It is still worth telling a prescriber, since gallbladder history is relevant background for interpreting future abdominal symptoms, and because the pancreatitis symptom picture overlaps with upper abdominal pain generally. That is a conversation for a clinician who has your history.